Same-day pickup in Honolulu · Hands-on demos at 1773 S King St
Back to Blog

Byrna TCR vs Mission 4: Which Launcher Fits Your Home?

The Byrna TCR PRO Compact Rifle and the Byrna Mission 4 Kit are both .68 caliber, rifle-style launchers with a 60+ foot effective range, but they suit different homes. The TCR is lighter at 7.75 lbs, costs $650, and splits its rounds across two magazines (7 and 12). The Mission 4 is heavier at 13 lbs, costs $795, and holds 19 rounds in a single magazine, running on two included 88-gram CO2 cartridges. If you want a lighter, more maneuverable launcher with room for accessories, the TCR fits. If you want the most rounds before reloading and do not mind the extra weight, the Mission 4 fits.

Every spec below comes from the store's product listings. Where a listing does not state a number, we say so rather than guess.

Quick specs side by side

Byrna TCR PRO Compact Rifle ($650)

  • Caliber: .68
  • Capacity: two magazines, 7-round and 12-round
  • Weight: 7.75 lbs
  • Range: 60+ feet effective, 100+ feet maximum
  • Energy: 15 to 20 joules
  • Velocity: not stated in the listing
  • Power: two 12-gram CO2 cartridges, with pull-pierce technology
  • Barrel: 11 inches
  • Rails: four Picatinny rails
  • Extras: folding sights, vertical front grip

Byrna Mission 4 Kit ($795)

  • Caliber: .68
  • Capacity: 19-round magazine, listed as the highest capacity Byrna launcher
  • Weight: 13 lbs
  • Range: 60+ feet effective, maximum not stated in the listing
  • Energy: 13 to 22 joules
  • Velocity: over 300 feet per second
  • Power: two 88-gram CO2 cartridges, included
  • Rails: integrated Picatinny rail
  • Extras: ambidextrous design

Capacity and magazines

This is the biggest practical difference. The Mission 4 Kit puts 19 rounds in one magazine, so you are less likely to need a reload during a stressful moment at home.

The TCR PRO Compact Rifle uses a dual magazine system, a 7-round and a 12-round. That is 19 rounds in total across the two, but you will need to swap magazines to use all of them. Some owners like the flexibility of a shorter magazine for handling and a longer one as a backup. Others would rather not think about a magazine change at all. Practice decides which suits you.

Weight, handling, and power

At 7.75 lbs, the TCR is noticeably lighter than the 13 lb Mission 4. In a Hawaii home with narrow hallways, a single-wall plantation house, or a condo with tight corners, a lighter launcher is easier to hold steady and move with. The TCR listing describes its vertical front grip as adding stability and its folding sights as helping quick target acquisition.

Some people find a heavier launcher feels steadier, and the Mission 4 listing notes an ambidextrous design. Its listing states projectiles fire at over 300 feet per second with 13 to 22 joules of kinetic energy. The TCR listing states 15 to 20 joules but does not give a velocity, so a direct speed comparison is not possible from the listings.

On range, both list a 60+ foot effective range. The TCR also lists a maximum range of over 100 feet, while the Mission 4 listing does not state a maximum.

CO2, rails, and accessories

The two launchers use different CO2. The TCR runs on two 12-gram cartridges and uses pull-pierce technology, where pulling the charging handle pierces the CO2. The Mission 4 runs on two 88-gram cartridges, and its kit includes two. For spares, the 88G 2 Pack ($49.99) is listed for the Mission 4, and that listing says the 88-gram bottles deliver far more shots per fill than smaller cartridges.

For accessories, the TCR has four Picatinny rails, while the Mission 4 has an integrated Picatinny rail. If you plan to add a light, the Flashlight + Strobe/Green Laser Combo ($79) mounts to a Picatinny rail. Check the compatibility guide to confirm which projectiles and accessories fit each launcher before you buy.

For practice at home, the Byrna Full-Size Target Tent ($129.99) has a built-in net that catches projectiles and reduces noise. The Byrna Oiler ($24.99) covers basic preventative maintenance, which the listing recommends every 500 shots.

Price, shipping, and Hawaii rules

The TCR PRO Compact Rifle is $650 and the Mission 4 Kit is $795. Both ship in a rifle-length box, which is $68. Shipping is charged by the largest box in the order, so adding projectiles or CO2 to the same order does not add another shipping charge. Pickup at the Honolulu shop, 1773 S King St, is free, and the shop offers hands-on demos so you can handle both before you choose.

According to our Hawaii laws guide, Byrna CO2 launchers are not classified as firearms in Hawaii and are legal to buy and own for adults 18 and older without a permit. The guide also notes that Hawaii's Castle Doctrine means you have no duty to retreat in your own dwelling, but force must still be proportional. A launcher is the last layer of home defense, after locked doors, lighting, a plan to get your ʻohana to safety, and calling 911.

This is general information, not legal advice. Check our Hawaii laws guide or a licensed attorney.

Handheld alternatives: SD and CL

If a rifle-length launcher feels like too much for your home, consider a handheld Byrna.

  • The Byrna SD Universal Kit - Self Defense ($415) is a .68 caliber launcher with two 5-round magazines, 8-gram CO2, a 60-foot range, and a listed 280 FPS.
  • The Compact Launcher (CL) ($565) is a .61 caliber launcher with 5-round magazines, a 60-foot effective range, and a red-dot-ready bolt pattern.

Both ship in a large box at $32. To compare all of them, try the Which Byrna guide, or contact us with questions.

Frequently asked questions

Which holds more rounds, the Byrna TCR or the Mission 4?

The Mission 4 holds 19 rounds in a single magazine. The TCR also carries 19 rounds, but split across a 7-round and a 12-round magazine, so using all of them requires a magazine change.

How much do the Byrna TCR and Mission 4 weigh?

The TCR PRO Compact Rifle weighs 7.75 lbs and the Mission 4 Kit weighs 13 lbs, according to their product listings.

How much is shipping for a Byrna TCR or Mission 4 in Hawaii?

Both ship in a rifle-length box at $68, and shipping is charged by the largest box in the order. Pickup at the Honolulu shop is free.

Do I need a permit to own a Byrna TCR or Mission 4 in Hawaii?

According to the store's Hawaii laws guide, Byrna CO2 launchers are not classified as firearms in Hawaii and adults 18 and older can buy them without a permit. This is general information, not legal advice.

Is there a handheld alternative to the TCR and Mission 4?

Yes. The Byrna SD ($415) and the Compact Launcher (CL) ($565) are handheld launchers with a 60-foot range. The Which Byrna guide helps compare them.

#byrna-tcr#byrna-mission-4#home-defense#launcher-comparison#byrna

Related Articles

Stay Safe with SafetyStoreHawaii

Browse our collection of non-lethal self-defense products.

Shop Now
Message